Give me your best shot. I can take it.

I am not good at sports, but I want my son to be (or at least better than me…maybe as good as his Mom at baseball).    To that end, I have signed up to be an assistant coach for his little league.  There is something to be said for the “fake it till you make it” mentality.  I’ve done this in the past with my daughter’s soccer team (I still can’t believe I got a compliment from the parents of my best player on that team) and I’m continuing to try it with my son and his baseball teams.  If anything, it’s forcing me to develop skills I don’t have so I don’t embarrass my son too badly when his old man strikes out at the plate.  The biggest thing I have to keep telling myself is not to be afraid to fail (not easy for an OCD Perfectionist).

Leave a Reply

