Warm up the truck

Kids are capable of more than they are given credit for, especially in today’s day & age.  I’ve taught both my kids at an early age (+7) to warm up the truck in the mornings.  It’s a small thing to me, but a big deal to them.  I especially try to teach me son (who’s now 10) instead of doing it for him (like downloading an audio book from the library).  It’s sad that parents today say “Don’t play with that stick, you’ll hurt yourself!” instead of “Be careful playing with that stick, watch the pointy-end.”  At age 12, my daughter was cooking full dinners for the family.  Take time to teach your kids, not shelter them.

Leave a Reply

